Testimonials

Good listener

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Don’t you hate it when all you see is glowing testimonials? Where is the DIRT? Surely these other companies have pissed someone off really good! Even I get excited when I get great or rotten service. Rarely do I keep quiet about it.

This page is dedicated to telling the truth. Yes we get glowing testimonials, but we upset folks at times too. It is not on purpose of course! I made a vow years ago to treat people right. I am not in the business to anger or upset anyone, however, it happens occasionally.

Through the process of working it out, much is learned, and enthusiastic referrals are earned the old fashioned way.

I have saved little notes, stories, and comments for years and now have a place to put them. When situations arise, I become an active listener and historian. So, at the risk of TMI (Too Much Information), and losing a perspective client or two, here is full disclosure.

Results Matter!

When we hit the nail on the head, or when we miss completely, people talk. It is in this spirit that I post these testimonials along with some background for context.

What you read between the lines here is a reason to hire a professional remodeler that listens carefully, and shy away from a handyman or doing serious remodeling DIY work on your own home.

The reality is that I have and will continue to move heaven & earth to make sure my clients are shielded from the “Lions, Tigers, and Bears” of the remodeling process. I will also be there to deal with anything that might come up for years to come. It is all about ” What’s wrong, not who’s wrong”, that I am focused on.

How, and that we solve problems in an ethical way, is what defines us daily.

Joe Levitch President.

“Thanks Joe, I’m glad I reached out to you!”

A small roof leak was noticed 5 years after a large addition was none. We fixed it the following day. “We are creating enthusiastic referrals one client at a time”. “Keep up the good work”!

Walt M.

“My hardwood floors are damaged!”

While remodeling a home and relocating their air conditioner, our HVAC company loaned our clients a portable air conditioner. Unaware of how the darn thing works, without instructions, it poured the condensate water onto the floor. They then moved it to a different room and did the same thing ruining the floor in two places. We refinished their floors for them. My clients were apologetic and appreciative of how we handled it professionally.

As terribly upset as I was about the situation my HVAC company stepped up and helped pay for the damage. JL

Brian C.

“Hey there is a lien on my home!”

We inadvertently had a lien placed on a clients home by a vendor that was not paid in a timely fashion. It is the vendors right to do that and we have little control over it. Sadly the client found out about it shortly after it was paid off. I exposed the facts and shared a copy of the release documentation. The client appreciated our honesty and attention to detail and was unharmed by the issue.

Business is not always clean and neat. When we screw up we admit it, fix it and move on. JL

KM.

“You guys are amazing”

Elderly parents moving up to be close to their kids bought a new home, only problem is that the master shower was too small. I mean it was so small they couldn’t fit in the walk-in part. Heaven forbid they fell in there. We attacked with a plan and are in the middle of an expeditious project that the new home builder wanted nothing to do with. They used the fast & great model.

Using Universal Design principals, we are making one more home usable by all abilities and sizes. JL

Elisa V.

“Thank you so much for helping me out”

As I was being hugged these were the words she said to me. She was 30 days into a project that seemed to be never ending. The handyman she hired was way over his head and asked to be let go. A past client of ours referred her and suggested she call me, and that I would take care of her. I arrived and took the project over exceeding her expectations in every way. We are scheduled to be done in 2 weeks.

This is what makes the world go round, Thank you Mike E. JL

Susan R.

“My tile has a weird film on it”

We had remodeled their bathroom struggling through several frustrations like materials not showing up when promised that delayed the project. I flinched when we got a message that something was wrong. I arrived with the tile setter and we discovered a leak. Our plumber tore into the project where we discovered a faulty drum trap and a leak. We had to tear into her wall to eventually fix it all up. No charge for the repair. We still have a few minor things to fix and will get to them shortly.

PAB

“I slept better last night”

Their home caught fire December 9th 2015 . 12-22-16 in my office while signing an agreement to move forward “We have been struggling with an insurance claim and contractor for over a year. We finally fired them like you had suggested 7 months ago. I honestly slept better knowing you were taking over the project soon and will get us back into our home at long last.”

Ray S.

Thank You!

We remodeled a vacant home for an out of state couple who had just purchased it. They were coming to the area without knowing a sole, they found Levco on the internet and liked what they read. We were able to successfully alter their home to just the way they wanted it. As a bonus, it was ready when they moved in just like we promised it would be. Talk about trust.

The Miller family

“Thank You Joe”

Those were the words that graced the text which was accompanied by the image of their completed project. It just happened to arrive on my phone as I was teaching a class about remodeling at Boise Schools Community education. Wow what a cool thing to receive and uncanny timing too. Thank You!

Rob & Casey W.

“My 4 year old could do better tile work!”

A client emailed and angry note to express his dissatisfaction about the tile work. (Earlier in the day the tile setter had mentioned to a relative that the tiles that were provided by the homeowner were cheap and defective and would not produce good results). Rather than setting the tiles in thinset adhesive, he “dry set” them to show the owner what they would look like. I was able to explain this to the client who ultimately became enraged and after a flurry of insults and an unbelievable amount of anger locked us out, told us to stop work, then demand that we do more work, and filed complaints with whoever would listen.  Oddly he is refusing to make a progress payment.

We ended up paying him to get him off our back. One of the saddest things that has happened to me in my business ever. JL

Name removed by request.

“Your website is wonderful”

I took a call from a fellow that was looking at buying a used home here in Boise. He lives at the other end of town. “I am seriously considering buying a home. I found so much great information on your sight I cant wait to meet you at the home and thank you in person”. He was just about to put in an offer and wanted me to check it out in advance of some potential renovations and an addition.

S.R.

“Your Project Manager did not keep our schedule up to date”

In reviewing a project with a client they were able to articulate a primary frustration that took away from the project enjoyment. Having the schedule be up to date is not negotiable. what we discovered is that if you hear someone ask “What is happening today?” when you get to the job, that you have FAILED! Being natural competitors I have asked each PM to look at the schedule daily to make any updates looking at tomorrow, next week, and two weeks out. That ought to fix it

Larry & Paula E.

“Your sidewalk looks terrible”

As I was leaving a prospects home I noticed her sidewalk was falling apart. “Did you know there is a program to have the sidewalk condemned and repaired or replaced for free”? Yea I’ve called multiple times and could never get results, I have a 95 year old neighbor and it worries me,”

I promptly made a call from my cell phone to the right person at ACHD (Ada County Highway District) and got their sidewalk scheduled for evaluation and inclusion into the program. There was a real high 5 in her driveway. “It is all about who you know” I said as I went on to my next appointment.

Liz S.

“I can’t believe you just fixed my fireplace”

I showed up to look at a faulty gas fireplace at a home of a friend who had had a bad experience with a visit to the fireplace shop I had recommended. “Let me have a look ” I said as I got down on my knees and turned on my mini flashlight. “Here’s your problem!” I got it working in under 15 seconds. Then I taught her how to get it going on her own. “That was amazing” she said as I put things back together and we had a nice chat about her home and how we might be a good fit with our service division. “No charge, have a great day”. Then I contacted my fireplace shop and scolded them for not treating my referrals like gold. All is well.

Pam B.

“At first I was concerned about having a bunch of men working in & on my house”

“It took about thirty minutes then we were all palls, you have a wonderful team and they obviously know what they are doing and love doing it. A special shout out to Darrin, Noah, and Steve. We love our family room addition”.

Nicky H.

“The cabinets really turned out nice, you nailed the color too. They looks perfect”

After a completing a set of three custom made Levco cabinets, the client and his father approached Dave to let him know how happy they were. Dave filled with pride as he responded “Thanks, I built them and finished them myself”! Behind the scenes we had been struggling to match an existing finish that looks dramatically different in natural light. How we make these little miracles happen is like getting a pass to Santa’s workshop.

Dennis & Dan N

 “We are spreading the word about the great job that was done”

Alyne, please extend our gratitude to Joe, Tracy, Noah, and everyone else that worked on our foundation repair project. A huge gap was noted in a stone foundation of a relocated home. We excavated it out and poured it back into place.

As a company owner, and self appointed “Benevolent Overlord” I heard a bell ring that cannot go unnoticed. I especially want to express my appreciation to Noah who made this repair happen seamlessly, Bravo take a bow son. J.

Bill & Vicki.

“You empowered me to get results through others”

“I had a hunch my HVAC contractor did not do a great job, and I was losing sleep over a recent furnace installation. When you came out and agreed with me, it was refreshing. You gave me some ideas and when the HVAC contractor returned they fixed everything properly without much fuss.” You not only know what you are talking about, you reassured me that I was not nuts. Now I want you to do my remodeling project.

David K.

“When our project manager suddenly got ill, I was not informed promptly”

“I understand that this sort of thing happens and you did a fine job of handling things internally, I would have liked to be informed right away.” We learned a valuable lesson and were not completely prepared for this situation. We are a client centric business and although the information was private, it definitely effects the projects. We apologize for missing the opportunity to let you know and have added it to our bag of tricks.

TJ K.

“I got lost in your website”

“I found myself reading your Blog for hours. You obviously understand and are passionate about what you do. What I love is that you explain things so I can understand them. I knew right off that you were the company I wanted to remodel with!”

Jolene A

“I cant believe it, you are a virtual electrician!”

Told to me after I enlisted the client to help solve the electrical problem over the phone successfully. I was responding at the request of a mutual friend on a Saturday morning. Not only did I impress everyone involved, the person I helped has some remodeling needs coming up that she wants to talk about. No invoice, glad I could help.

Patricia K

“Joe, you did it again and went above and beyond for me”

When dueling subcontractors were appearing to tag team a client and possibly undermine his house sale, I stepped in and got everyone working together again. Joe I can’t thank you enough, the deal is going through thanks in part to you.

Jim L

“You are exactly the kind of company I want to work with!”

Spoken by a counter top fabricator after he heard us chew out a cabinetmaker for not installing the cabinets to our specifications “perfectly level”.

Yes it matters! Setting our expectations will make everything make sense in the future, glad to have you on board! JL

Marco A

“That Randy is really something”

I think he is the neatest guy I’ve ever met, he cleaned up so darn well. I can’t tell you how much we appreciate that you and your team treated my house with respect.

We understand that we are often creating messes. That we clean them up too, sets us apart. Thanks Randy! JL

Suzanne and Rebeka

“When I called your office, I spoke with Alyne”

She knew what was going on and was a joy to talk with, she took my information and scheduled an appointment on the spot. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate talking to someone intelligent on the phone, we even joked around a bit.

Alyne is amazing, I am lucky to have her on the team. What else can I say. JL

Angela S.

After completing a master bathroom remodeling project

I loved your tile guys, and those cleaners, wow! We love our new shower and the heated floors are amazing. Thank you Levco for making it great! A special shout out to Warren.

This is what it sounds like when we create enthusiastic referrals. JL

Bob & Billie H.

A fireplace upgrade gone fantastically

Thank you for making our fireplace look great, it brightens up the entire room and everyone who sees it loves it. I am going to have to put up a before picture to prove how much it changed. It is amazing!

This is what makes us love our jobs! JL

Rebeka H.

After a difficult fireplace stone installation

The fireplace looks great! I am really enjoying it. Also please tell Steve I appreciate the way he immediately took care of the issues with the masonry person. You are lucky to have him as an employee.

This made my day! JL

Sharon F.

“My roof finally stopped leaking :)”

I had a roof repaired for the daughter of a dear friend. Despite our repeated attempts to make the problem go away, the leak remained. On the third repair attempt I called to check on things. It had rained pretty darn good the night before and sure enough we got it solved. “Joe, thank you so much for following up, this was a difficult one to get, I appreciate your tenacity.”

Fixing elusive intermittent problems is difficult, in the end clear communications and persistence paid off. “You can trust that we will always get-er done” JL

Maren M.

“I can not say enough nice things about your company and crews”

I embarked upon a large challenging remodeling project with trepidation. I wanted tho hug your project manager as he left for the last time. Thank you for making this difficult project so enjoyable and fulfilling. My garage addition will provide me with joy and value for the rest of my life .

Tim Z.

Collaborating on a project

In response to seeing a Blog post about our recent project

Wow! It came out very nice Joe. As you mention, it’s often times the small things that make the biggest difference in the outcome of a project. It’s a credit to you and your team that Levco makes the effort to work through the “opportunities” to the benefit of your clients. From my perspective, I always enjoy a chance to work in a partnership with builders to come up with creative solutions. There is always more than one way to skin the cat. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your team on this one.

Scott S.

“You listened to me.”

I am signing this agreement with you because unlike other contractors that came to my home, you listened to me. You gave me a realistic approach to my kitchen remodel. I know what I want and you get it. I look forward to working with you and your team.

Let’s get busy. JL

Karen M.

“You don’t need to do that.”

A simple misunderstanding about the finishes in an out building was causing confusion. My employees thought we were fixing a shed. My client thought we were fixing an addition to her home. Once we cleared up the confusion, we returned to tune up some painting and caulking issues that did not meet expectations. Ultimately we  impressed everyone involved.

I insisted that we return to make it right despite objections. JL

Victoria B.

“I quit, I’m sending you a certified letter from my lawyer!”

A new subcontractor was having a difficult time completing the work he agreed to do. His materials were behaving strangely, looking terrible and he was refusing to take responsibility for anything. Progress was understandably stalled for weeks. I called for a meeting with the distributor of the materials in an effort to understand where we stood, and how to swiftly move forward to finish the job. With a plan in place to fix things in the morning, the subcontractor abruptly freaked out and quit. “You can’t quit, you’re fired!” came rushing to mind. I found and hired others to finish up. We deducted the difference from his bill with the guidance of his lawyer and calmly completed the job. “It looks great now, thanks Joe”

You are welcome JL

Cassi B

“I have never seen this done correctly”

I met A Boise City Building Inspector for a framing inspection. We had removed a bearing wall and the new beam needed to be approved before we covered it up. In front of my client he slowly inspected the new beam and all of its connections to the existing structure. “Joe,” he said, “This is the first time I have ever seen this done correctly on the first try!” It doesn’t get any better than that.

Holy cow! That is a strong vote of confidence. JL

Tony Y

“I have seen lots of people work together, but none like you guys.”

Your guys are working together in a way that is unique. You personify a team approach. No grumbling or discontent, teams attack problems and solve them, they help each other and it shows. I appreciate that.

This is the sort of thing that makes it fun to be in business. JL

Tim Z.

“You stuck to your promise”

When my crawl space flooded my new home from what seemed to be an isolated sprinkler issue, you came and dried it out. You also helped communicate with my insurance carrier. You promised me you would fix the problem and I believed you. Then it flooded again while I was away on vacation. When I called you in a panic, you were undaunted and dried it out again. Then you and your team attacked the problem with gusto. You orchestrated the repairs that I am confidant will prevent any further issues, and most of all, made me feel safe. Thanks

Yah, like that. JL

Alice M.

“The customer is always fucking right.”

This one took an ugly turn. A client that I respect very much got angry with us over a simple thing that could have been resolved in real time but we unfortunately missed the opportunity. No one wins when a complete failure to agree is reached. The cows were long gone by the time I heard him utter these frightening words.

What my client wanted was not structurally sound in our opinion.  We screwed up when we did not take the time to explain it to his satisfaction, or come up with an alternative solution. I regret not getting involved sooner, it should have never come to this. We all have learned a valuable lesson which was extremely painful. May I never have to relearn this one.

I apologize for our shortcomings John. JL

John F

“Your crew is having a good time working hard.”

Your guys are working all the time and getting along so well. They are not afraid of hard work and they are all polite. I’ve had work done by others and they are never like that. We appreciate you very much. Thanks

Barbara B.

When Steve W. showed up he made it very clear that he is creating a working team. This means that we are looking out for each other and teaching while doing. It is in everyone’s best interest to chip in no matter the task and use the three musketeers mantra, “All for one and One for all”. While we are working on your home, we treat it like our own.

“Your Team is amazing”

We are three years out from our whole house remodeling project and when I brought up a small problem. You guys came over in force and solved it. Not only that but you noticed another problem and fixed that too. I can’t thank you enough.

Dan N

Creating enthusiastic referrals is what we are all about here at Levco, this is just one way we achieve that lofty goal.

Tricky roof replacement

Being a homeowner, you will always have repairs that need to be done, both major and minor. If you need work done you want a person you can trust.

I’ve known Joe Levitch for over 20 years.  When he started his remodeling business 8 years ago I knew I now had that trustworthy person.  When the time came to replace our roof I called Levco.

When the initial estimate was presented to my husband and I, we were both very pleased to find that it included photos, descriptions, and 3 different courses of action we could take on our roof.   Joe walked me through the options and contract, and made sure that I understood exactly what work would be done, and how much it was going to cost.

The crew that did the roof was very professional, fast, and efficient.  The clean up they did afterword was outstanding.  Joe followed up with a phone call to ensure everything was okay, and that I was happy with the end result. I most definitely was.

Reliable, trustworthy, professional, all words I would use without hesitation to describe Levco and Joe Levitch.

Sincerely,

Leighan S.

“What Kind of Beer do you Drink?”

As a client came back to his home after being out for a month and a half and asked me this question.  He could not be happier with the end result or the process that we used to communicate with him about all things related to fixing his home after a fire and severe smoke damage. 2-7-2013

Amber ale or a porter JL

Don L

Great Post! Phone call

I just read your BLOG post on knob and tube wiring, It was the most informative article I have ever read on the topic. I believe I understand it now. I live in Port Angele’s WA. But my daughter is buying a turn of the century home in Boise, would it be OK if she calls you?  7-2012

That is what makes me want to Blog JL

Home Inspection Thank You

I received a cool thank you card for a home inspection I did. A North End’r in fine shape with a few minor problems. Welcome to the hood young lady!

Roof Leak, What Roof Leak?

I got a call from a client we remodeled for 2 years ago, “We have water entering from our hood exhaust vent, do you have the name of a roofer?” “NO” I said “we are on the way” Our roofs don’t leak! we had it fixed in a few minutes and checked the rest of the roof. We must have had a cold joint. Amazed with our service the client has become an enthusiastic referral for us. 2-12-13

Dan N

Roof Leak, What Roof Leak?

I got a call from a client we remodeled for 2 years ago, “We have water entering from our hood exhaust vent, do you have the name of a roofer?” “NO” I said “we are on the way” Our roofs don’t leak! we had it fixed in a few minutes and checked the rest of the roof. We must have had a cold joint. Amazed with our service the client has become an enthusiastic referral for us. 2-12-13

Dan N

My Basement Just Flooded Again!

I received this phone call from an old client, early one afternoon. “Did you turn the water off yet.?” I asked. “Yes,” she said, “I have the disaster folks on the way,”” We are on the way too,” I told her. 3 minutes later we were at her home. We beat the disaster folks, started cleaning up, and calming her down. With a big hug, she said “I can’t thank you enough!” (Roots had gotten into her sewer line) She went on to ask if we could just fill in her basement. We ultimately ended up replacing her sewer line.

Julie D

Painter From Hell

While visiting the job site at the end of the day, the Owner met me at the door to say” If this is the quality of your painting… I would have rather painted it myself”! Ouch, we had the painter return several times until the owner was pleased. We do not use that painter now.

Joe B

Community Ed Spring 2012

Thank You

This was for resolving confusion over missing the opportunity to have coffered ceiling trusses in a new addition. After identifying what was wrong rather than who was wrong, we were able to work with the truss company to modify our trusses to accommodate everyone’s wishes.

Crystal V

Those Installers Rock

My clients took a moment to give a shout out to my cabinet installers, a father and son team. “They did a magnificent job putting in our cabinets”

Eric W

Upon Unclogging a Hot Water Line

We remodeled a old home in the North End. Connecting into the old galvanized pipes a flake of material go stuck in the hot side of the valve causing the water flow to be restricted. We got out and flushed the lines and impressed the client. “Dave came yesterday and did a great job.  He even left us some sinfully delicious chocolate cake (disguised as bread).  Thanks for the fantastic follow up service.  We’ll keep in touch.” 2-15-13

Brian C

After dispensing some home improvement advice

A referral from an insurance agent about a problem that wasn’t covered. “Well, do you think my advice was a good value”? “You bet, that was amazing, I thought it my house was falling apart, I think I can fix it myself now, Thanks!”

D Adams

Upon Completing Some Warranty Work

Upon ripping out a slab of concrete path and replacing it at no cost. “It looks great, thanks for following up on this!” “You’re welcome”, I said…It was the right thing to do! 10-15-12

Joe B

It Looks Like It Was Always There

Upon building a new entry to her home “It looks like it was always there.” Until I show the original pictures of the front of my home, no one can believe the entry didn’t always look this great. Thanks Levco.

Gail W

Upon Signing an a Design Agreement for an Addition

I chose you over the other two Contractors because you are definitely better organized, you are far more professional and you gave us a price range and stuck with it throughout the process.

Jeff V

Verbal Comment Card

After teaching (Residential Remodeling 101) at community education, a student said, “You are definitely passionate about remodeling”

Anonymous

Thank You Card

Upon deciding to go forward with our design process

I choose you because your process makes sense to us. Of the three contractors we interviewed we feel you have the best ideas and have the ability to work with us long distance.

Thank You

This was for clearly communicating to a potential client and helping them through the process of getting a new home and having it updated with a 203K loan. Sadly I did not get the job, but this is the appreciation note I received.

M Smith

Thank You Card